Enterprise case study: Ross Ward, Motus Innovations

ross-wardMy name is Ross Ward, and I am the founder of Motus Innovations, a medical device company focused on revolutionising the rehabilitation of stroke patients, using innovative technology. I founded the company in the final year of my Medical Engineering degree at Queen Mary, after my grandmother suffered from a stroke and was left disabled. I searched for a way to help her recover, but found no affordable solutions. This was my inspiration behind Motus; with a background in Medicine, experience working in industry as a mechanical engineer, combined with the knowledge I was gaining from my degree, I decided to try and create a rehabilitation system that would allow stroke patients to complete more hours of physiotherapy. 

Motus is being developed by a team of 3, with a mixture of clinical and technical knowledge and expertise, as well as five interns from a range of disciplines. It hasn’t always been this way. For over a year, it was only me. Finding time to work on my Motus, in between studying for my final exams and working as an engineer, was one of the hardest challenges I had faced, but my determination and passion got me through it. The company has achieved a great deal in such a short period of time, but there are a few key things that I am most proud of. First of all, Motus Innovations was one of the 100 start ups selected to be part of Mass Challenge UK’s accelerator programme – the companies chosen are considered some of the most high impact start-ups around. Secondly, we were nominated for the Penrose Awards 2016 Innovator of the Year, and Product of the Year, a huge feat of which I am immensely proud and thankful for.

Obviously the time I have spent working on Motus Innovations has taught me so much, and I have gained a wealth of experience during this process. Of the myriad of lessons learnt, the one that stands out the most is never giving up. I understand how cliché it may sound, but perseverance truly is everything. There will always be tough times and people who will doubt or criticise you, but believing in what you are doing, and in yourself and your own capability, is the only thing guaranteed to get you through the difficult periods. My journey has not been easy in the slightest, but if I had given up at every bump in the road, I would not be where I am now and definitely would not have achieved everything I have. Perseverance and self-belief are the keys to success. Networking is another crucial ingredient and the importance of it should not be overlooked. Business often comes down to who you know, so I take every opportunity I can to meet and get to know as many different and interesting people as possible.

I spend a great proportion of my life working, because I love what I do and I find it so enjoyable and rewarding, but when I do have some time to relax, I love to order a takeaway and watch Netflix for an evening, or travel to Kent and spend time with my family.

When people ask where I see myself and Motus Innovations in five years time, I picture us being a global brand, hopefully with licence agreements across North America, Middle East and North Africa,and Asia.Going global is one of my biggest goals, as I believe people everywhere deserve to access technology that makes their lives better; money should not dictate whether you recover or not. I want to help stroke sufferers all around the world.

There is so much possibility for myself and Motus Innovations in the future, and I look forward to embracing every opportunity life throws at me. If you want to learn more about Motus Innovations, check out our website at www.motusinnovations.co.uk

Ross won our £10,000 funding grant last year.  If you would like to apply for this free money, please check for upcoming deadlines via this link.  If you have any questions, please contact Natasha Triay on n.triay@qmul.ac.uk

Leave a Reply

