What is it like doing a QConsult supported by J.P.Morgan project?

Anasta Feldano recently completed her time on her QConsult supported by J.P.Morgan project. Here she tells us all about her experience.

Anasta_Feldano_Portrait

What organisation did you work with and what project did you do?

I worked with an East London film making agency, on a project about raising their profile and diversifying their customer base.

How did you find the programme?

It really gave me the confidence boost I needed. When I got onto QConsult [supported by J.P. Morgan] I was worried about how I would do it. But going through the project, from the Assessment Centre to the group work to the presentations and the skills sessions was just a whole series of confidence boosts. I can’t think of any other way to describe it.  It’s been a great experience all in all and has bridged the gap that I would have otherwise had on my CV.

What do you think you learnt from the programme?

I feel more comfortable with having to do research work, I never had to do it in a non-academic way before and now I have figured out how to do it and I know what research means in a professional environment. And, it has taught me how to do things like public speaking which I always thought I wouldn’t be good at.

Has it made a difference to how you think about your career?

It has definitely increased my confidence, I always thought ‘I’m not good enough’ or ‘I’m not equal to others’. Now, having done this project and got so much good feedback, I think ‘maybe I can do that too!’ I felt encouraged and now I feel confident and entitled to go for other things which I wouldn’t have before.

This project helped me figure out two things. One is that maybe a heavily research based job with little or no client interaction isn’t for me. And the other is that I really enjoy public speaking and presenting and interacting with people. So this will steer the types of jobs I look for.

Do you think it has made a different to your employability?

Yes, I now have now secured a Graduate Role as a Tax analyst at one of the Big 4 firms.

I had to do a presentation as part of my final interview, having worked with my client and also JP Morgan, and gaining a mixture of both presenting formally and informally helped me. I think it enhanced my confidence, communication skills and [ability to] talk through points in a semi-formal manner.

As part of my manager level interview, I was asked to talk through another project that I was involved with beside my Micro-Tyco competition, and I talked through the Q-consult project which involved utilising team working, communication, presentation and research skills.

Has doing this project changed your understanding of what consultancy is?

I have a greater awareness of what consultancy would be like and I now know that it involves a lot of research rather than client facing.

Has being part of this programme made any difference to your professional networks?

Yes, I was able to practice my networking skills and would feel more confident to network in the future.

Would you recommend the programme to other students?

Definitely, people should apply for it, no matter what field of study they are doing as our team had such a mix of skills in it. I would encourage anyone to do it, it is just such a great work experience. It shows employers that you are well rounded, versatile and able to do more. It not only shows that you are active and enthusiastic about gaining skills but also that you have gained new skills and got better at the skills you have.

 

One thought on “What is it like doing a QConsult supported by J.P.Morgan project?

  1. Pingback: QConsult initiative wins at Guardian University Awards 2016 | QMUL Jobs Blog

Leave a Reply

