Getting to Know Us: Kirsti

First question, can you tell the reader who you are? So name, job title etc.

Kirsti Burton, Careers Information Manager.

And what departments/students do you specifically help?

All departments and any student, which means the topics I work on can be really broad. One minute it could be film studies, the next engineering – and everything inbetween. It keeps me on my toes!

How do you do this? What do you spend most of your time doing?

Research and writing.Kirsti

What’s the hardest thing about your job?

Because information is so vast and fast, you can never finish researching (which in a way is also one of the best things about information work). There is also a lot of really bad information out there.

What do you enjoy the most?

The ‘detective work’ around researching a particular topic. That and the variety of what I do.

What are you most proud of? What is your biggest success to date?

Probably two things – one is the information space and our leaflets in the Careers & Enterprise Centre. They get a lot of positive comments from visitors, including staff from other universities, which is really nice to hear. It’s changed a lot over the past few years I’m pleased to say.

The other is the first time I held the printed version of the Careers Magazine that I edit in my hand. It was nice to see all my hard work in glossy paper form! It won an award too, so it wasn’t just me who liked it!

What is the most common question you get asked by students?

Depends on the time of year. In February it’s all about assessment centres, in April it’s about working abroad and July it’s about career choice. The patterns stays the same year after year…

And finally, tells us one thing we wouldn’t know about you.

The first time I came to Mile End, I was 15 and went to a Blur concert at Mile End Stadium!

Leave a Reply

