Getting to Know Us: Abi

First question, can you tell the reader who you are? So name, job title etc.

Abi Sharma, Deputy Head of Careers & Enterprise

And what departments/students do you specifically help?

I’m the Careers Consultant for the Schools of Business & Management, Geography, English and Drama and Languages, Linguistics and Film.  I also look after our work with international students.

How do you do this? What do you spend most of your time doing?

My time is split in lots of different ways: line management; project management for C&E strategic projects; responding to student emails; planning, prepping and delivering workshops; creating and delivering innovative student events; delivering 1-2-1s for students; writing QMPlus content and weekly careers news announcements for students; reporting to stakeholders and maintaining external and internal relationships.

What’s the hardest thing about your job?Abi

Juggling all the different things that I do!

What do you enjoy the most?

When I hear from a student that with my help they’ve landed an internship or a job.

What are you most proud of? What is your biggest success to date?

There isn’t any one thing I’d call my biggest success. I feel a sense of achievement every time I feel I’ve innovated a new project, or piece of careers education which I can see helps students!

What is the most common question you get asked by students?

How can I stand out to an employer?

And finally, tells us one thing we wouldn’t know about you.

I’m a big tennis fan and I was a ball girl for Queen’s Club tennis tournament when I was a teenager. I had the privilege for being baseline ball girl for Boris Becker, Tim Henman & Todd Martin amongst others!

Leave a Reply

