Getting to Know Us: Rachael

First question, can you tell the reader who you are? So name, job title etc.

Hello, my name is Rachael Blundell and I run QTemps which is an in house recruitment service especially for Queen Mary students and graduates.

And what departments/students do you specifically help?

I mainly help QM students and graduates to find work that will enhance their CV. At the moment the work I can offer covers four main sections: administration, events, research and computer programming.

I also help internal departments by hiring candidates to fill their immediate start roles; as we are much cheaper than a high street agency, it helps them save money.

How do you do this? What do you spend most of your time doing?

I do this by building a network internally to find the roles. This involves going to meetings with clients, establishing a rapport and finding out their recruitment needs. More recently I am aiming to find positions outside Queen Mary so will be having a lot of external meetings with outside companies. So far I have been to a doctor’s surgery, a wedding dress supplier and the Royal London hospital. It’s really interesting meeting with new people and seeing how each company works.

Blundell

What’s the hardest thing about your job?

Having to tell candidates they have been unsuccessful for a position they interviewed for even when I think they were the better candidate. At the end of the day though, it is up to the department/company.

What do you enjoy the most?

Helping students and graduates to gain more experience and in some cases that leads to a full time position which can be very rewarding.

What are you most proud of? What is your biggest success to date?

I think the biggest achievement so far has been that I have given roles to 145 different students and graduates since I started.

What is the most common question you get asked by students?

The most common question is ‘How can I improve my application/CV so I get selected next time?’ Recently I have written a blog about how to improve your CV, plus there are lots of resources on our website and inside the Careers & Enterprise Centre that you can use.

And finally, tells us one thing we wouldn’t know about you.

Being in a university environment has inspired me to become a student again so I will be starting a part time Masters course in Human Resources Management in September. I am hoping this will help with my future career path into in-house graduate recruitment.

Leave a Reply

